Alabama Power Foundation – Innovative Technology Prize


Carbon Admixture - Jialai Wang

Culverhouse College of Business – Entrepreneurial Growth Business Award

$10,000 Award

Office for Research and Economic Development Awards

$5,000 - First Prize

Rapid and Layer-Specific Annealing for Manufacturing of Perovskite Solar Modules - Dawen Li

$3,000 - Second Prize

Miniaturized Reflector Antenna - Nathan Jeong

$2,000 - Third Prize

Dental Appliance Treatment Assessment - James Geyer

Division of Finance and Operations: Staff Innovation Pitch Awards

$5,000 - First Prize

e-Flood IIoT Interoperable Intelligent Systems - Silvana Croope

$3,000 - Second Prize

College Not Chaos

$2,000 - Third Prize

Delighted Digital LLC, DBA Fast Fruit - Andrea Foster

Thank You to The Competitors, Judges, Facilitators, & Support Team


  • Ying Qin: Manager, EDGE Labs – The University of Alabama


  • Nghia Chiem: Director, Office for Innovation & Commercialization – The University of Alabama

  • James Cochran: Associate Dean for Research – The Univeristy of Alabama

  • Danielle Kimbrough: Community Relations Manager – Alabama Power

  • Rob Morgan: Executive Director, STEM Path to the MBA – The University of Alabama

  • Katherine Zobre: Director of Training, Innovation Depot

Support Team

  • Dan Blakley: Associate Vice President for Economic & Business Engagement – The University of Alabama   

  • Dr. Theresa Welbourne: Executive Director, Alabama Entrepreneurship Institute & Will and Maggie Brooke Professor in Entrepreneurship – The University of Alabama

All Competitors

  • Armen Amirkhanian: Assistant Professor – College of Engineering

  • Janet Brown – Assistant Professor, Capstone College of Nursing

  • Peter Brummund – Associate Professor, Culverhouse College of Business

  • Chandra Clark – Instructor, College of Communication & Information Sciences

  • Silvana Croope- Associate Research Personnel, Transportation Policy Research Center

  • Andrea Foster – Receptionist, Capstone College of Nursing

  • Jared George – Lecturer/Director of Creative Services, Advertising and Public Relations

  • James Geyer – Medical Director, College of Community Health Sciences

  • James Harris – Assistant Professor, College of Engineering

  • Nathan Jeong – Assistant Professor, College of Engineering

  • Genna Jones – Tartan Brand Manager/ Events Coordinator, Dean’s Office, College of Human Environmental Sciences

  • Lingyan Kong – Assistant Professor, College of Human Environmental Sciences

  • Dawen Li – Associate Professor, College of Engineering

  • Robin McWilliam – Professor, Director, Executive Director, College of Education

  • Jialai Wang – Assistant Professor, College of Engineering